Modern Steel Construction » Steel in the News » AISC Honors Four for Distinguished Industry Achievements

Steel in the News

Back to all posts

AISC Honors Four for Distinguished Industry Achievements
Posted by Alison Trost on November 30, 2010 at 10:16 AM.

Raymond A. Phillips, chairman of Cives Steel Company, and Fernando Frias, president of the Mexican Institute of Steel Construction (IMCA) received Lifetime Achievement Awards from AISC at its 88th Annual Meeting in October. These awards provide special recognition to individuals who have provided outstanding service over a sustained period of years to AISC and the structural steel design/construction/academic community and who have contributed to the success of the fabricated structural steel industry.


A long-time member of the AISC board of directors, Phillips has provided consistent and continuous leadership on the Committee on Research. Frias has long been the driving force behind IMCA and has been instrumental in establishing positive relationships between AISC and IMCA.


Also honored were Ronnie Medlock, vice president of technical services at High Steel Structures, Inc., and David Ware, CEO of Tennessee Galvanizing Inc., who received Special Achievement Awards. These awards recognize individuals and firms who have notable singular or multiple achievements in structural steel design, construction, research, or education and who have made a positive and substantial impact on the structural steel design and construction industry.


Medlock is being honored for his vision in initiating the AASHTO/NSBA Steel Bridge Collaboration. Ware accepted the award for Tennessee Galvanizing, honored for its efforts to reduce hazardous waste generation among steel galvanizers.


To read the official AISC press release and learn more about the recipients of the 2010 AISC Lifetime Achievement Awards and Special Achievement Awards, click here.


For more information on AISC awards and past recipients, please visit





Photo: Jasper, Tenn.-based Tennessee Galvanizing Inc. was awarded the 2009 Governor’s Award for Excellence in Hazardous Waste Reduction. Read more about the technology Tennessee Galvanizing developed in the January 2010 issue of MSC by clicking here (scroll to page 2). Shown here receiving the state award are, from left, Tennessee Deputy Governor John Morgan, Tennessee Department of Environment & Conservation Commissioner Jim Fyke, Tennessee Galvanizing President/CEO David Ware, Tennessee Department of Environment & Conservation Deputy Commissioner Paul Sloan, Tennessee Galvanizing Environmental, Health, and Safety Manager Dennis Rains.


Bookmark and Share