Modern Steel Construction » Steel in the News » Free AISC Hazard Communication Training Webinar Oct. 30
Search

Steel in the News


Back to all posts

Free AISC Hazard Communication Training Webinar Oct. 30
Posted by Tasha Weiss on September 17, 2013 at 1:13 PM.

OSHA’s new Globally Harmonized System (GHS) for Hazard Communication requires fabricators and erectors to provide training to their employees on the new standard requirements by December 1, 2013. To help fabricators and erectors learn what the new GHS requirements are, how to comply with them and meet the training requirements, AISC is offering a free webinar on October 30, 2013. This webinar is intended for users, not producers, of hazardous chemicals.

 

“In March 2012, OSHA issued a new Hazard Communication Standard (77 FR 17574), which completely revised the existing 1987 Hazard Communication Standard (52 FR 31852) by incorporating the United Nations Global Harmonization Standard (GHS),” said Lawrence F. Kruth, P.E., vice president of engineering, technology and safety at Douglas Steel Fabricating Corporation (an AISC member and AISC certified fabricator/advanced certified erector), Lansing, Mich., chairman of AISC’s Safety Committee and the webinar speaker. “By December 1, 2013, all employees must be trained on the new label elements and safety data sheet (SDS) format. This webinar will offer guidance on how fabricators and erectors can comply with this requirement.”

 

The 75-minute webinar will begin at the following times, relative to time zone:

 

9:30 a.m. PDT
10:30 a.m. MDT
11:30 a.m. CDT
12:30 p.m. EDT

 

Participants who complete the feedback survey will receive a complimentary laminated poster on GHS in English and Spanish.

 

There is no fee to attend the webinar but registration is required. Registrants will also receive access to a PDF file of the presentation slides prior to the webinar.

 

To register for the webinar, go to www.aisc.org/hazcomwebinar.

 

For more information about safety in the fabricated and erected structural steel industry, visit www.aisc.org/safety. To learn about other upcoming AISC live webinars, visit www.aisc.org/webinars.


Bookmark and Share