Modern Steel Construction » Steel in the News » 2014 Prize Bridge Competition Call for Entries

Steel in the News

Back to all posts

2014 Prize Bridge Competition Call for Entries
Posted by Tasha Weiss on August 1, 2013 at 3:53 PM.

award-cms-banner.jpgThe National Steel Bridge Alliance (NSBA) is now accepting entries for its 2014 Prize Bridge Competition, which honors significant and innovative steel bridges constructed in the U.S. The winners will be announced at the 2014 World Steel Bridge Symposium (WSBS), which will be co-located with NASCC: The Steel Conference in Toronto, March 26-29, 2014, at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre. Entries are due by December 31, 2013 and must be submitted online at


NSBA’s Prize Bridge Competition began in 1928 and is the oldest and most prestigious awards program of its kind in the steel design and construction industry. The winning bridges will be featured in MSC and the project team members will be presented with distinguished awards at the 2014 WSBS in Toronto. 


To qualify for the competition, all bridges must be constructed of structural steel and located in the U.S. (defined as the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and all U.S. territories). Eligible bridges must have been completed and open to traffic between May 1, 2011 and September 30, 2013.


An independent panel of industry experts will judge entries on the following criteria: innovation, aesthetics, economics and design and engineering solutions. Entries may be judged in more than one category, but each entry can only receive one award.


Award categories include:


  • Major Span: One or more spans greater than or equal to 400 ft
  • Long Span: Longest span equal to or greater than 250 ft but less than 400 ft
  • Medium Span: Longest span equal to or greater than 140 ft but less than 250 ft
  • Short Span: No single span greater than 140 ft
  • Movable Span
  • Reconstructed: Having undergone major reconstruction, rehabilitation, or widening
  • Special Purpose: Bridge not identifiable in one of the above categories including pedestrian, pipeline, and airplane


In addition, NSBA will offer special recognition to one project that best exemplifies Accelerated Bridge Construction and one project that best exemplifies a full range of sustainable attributes.


For more information about the competition and to submit your steel bridge project for consideration, visit


For detailed descriptions and photos of last year’s Prize Bridge winners, you can read the article from the June 2012 issue of MSC.

Bookmark and Share