Modern Steel Construction » Steel in the News » Nominations Sought for 2014 T.R. Higgins Award

Steel in the News

Back to all posts

Nominations Sought for 2014 T.R. Higgins Award
Posted by Tasha Weiss on June 27, 2013 at 8:32 AM.

Nominations are now being accepted for AISC’s prestigious T.R. Higgins Lectureship Award, which includes a $15,000 cash award. The award recognizes an outstanding lecturer and author whose technical paper or papers, published during the eligibility period, are considered an outstanding contribution to the engineering literature on fabricated structural steel. The winner will be recognized at the 2014 NASCC: The Steel Conference, March 26-29 in Toronto, and will present their lecture at various professional association events throughout the year.


AISC encourages those involved in the steel design and construction industry to submit nominations by August 1, 2013. Nominations should include the following information:


  • Name and affiliation of individual nominated (past winners may not be nominated again).
  • Title of the paper(s) for which the individual is nominated, including publication citation.
  • If the paper has multiple authors, identify the principal author.
  • Reasons for nomination.
  • A copy of the paper(s) as well as any published discussion, must accompany the nomination. The author must be a permanent resident of the U.S. and available to fulfill the commitments of the award. The paper or papers must have been published in a professional journal within the five-year period from January 1, 2008 to January 1, 2013. The 2014 award winner will give a minimum of six presentations of the lecture on selected occasions during the year.

The award will be made to a nominated individual on the basis of two criteria: his/her reputation as a lecturer; and the jury’s evaluation of the paper or papers named in the nomination. Papers will be judged for originality, clarity of presentation, contribution to engineering knowledge, future significance, and value to the fabricated structural steel industry.


Please send your nominations for the T.R. Higgins Lectureship Award to:


T.R. Higgins Award Nomination
c/o Janet T. Cummins
Engineering & Research Coordinator
American Institute of Steel Construction
One East Wacker Drive, Suite 700
Chicago, IL 60601


Or, you may submit your nominations to Janet Cummins via email at


The current T.R. Higgins Lecturer is William F. Baker, P.E., S.E., structural engineering partner at Skidmore, Owings & Merrill, LLP, in Chicago. He’s honored for co-authoring papers on Stability Design of the Bow String Trusses of the Virginia Beach Convention Center and Applications of Structural Optimization in Architectural Design, which were published in the proceedings of the combined 2012 ASCE Structures Congress and 20th Analysis and Computation Specialty Conference. His lecture is titled Structural Innovation: Combining Classic Theories with New Technologies.


Other recent recipients include: Michel Bruneau, P.E., Ph.D., for his papers on steel plate shear wall design published in AISC’s Engineering Journal and the proceedings of the Canadian Conference on Earthquake Engineering; Charles W. Roeder, Ph.D., P.E., professor of civil engineering at the University of Washington, Seattle, for his paper on Gusset Plate Connections for Seismic Design, which was published in the Proceedings of the Sixth International Workshop on Connections in Steel Structures; and James O. Malley, S.E., senior principal of Degenkolb Engineers, San Francisco, for his paper titled “The 2005 AISC Seismic Provisions for Structural Steel Buildings,” published in the First Quarter 2007 AISC Engineering Journal.


This prestigious award is named for Theodore R. Higgins, Ph.D., former AISC Director of Engineering and Research, who was widely acclaimed for his many contributions to the advancement of engineering technology related to fabricated structural steel.


More information on the T.R. Higgins Lectureship Award and its past winners can be found at

Bookmark and Share