Modern Steel Construction » Steel in the News » Live AISC Webinar Tomorrow: Diaphragms for Steel-Framed Buildings
Search

Steel in the News


Back to all posts

Live AISC Webinar Tomorrow: Diaphragms for Steel-Framed Buildings
Posted by Tasha Weiss on June 12, 2013 at 1:37 PM.

You still have time to register for AISC’s live webinar happening tomorrow, June 13, focused on “Design of Diaphragms, Chords, and Collectors in Steel-Framed Buildings.”

 

The design of a lateral system for a building is not complete without a complete path delivering the load to the braced frames, moment frames or shear walls. Diaphragms serve this important function, providing the load path while also restraining the gravity system against sway buckling.

 

This live webinar will review the types of diaphragms often found in steel-framed buildings as well as the components of diaphragms. Special diaphragm strength requirements in ASCE 7 and special requirements for chords and collectors will be reviewed and design methodologies for diaphragm components will be presented.

 

The 1.5-hour webinar will begin at the following times, relative to time zone:

 

Noon PDT
1 p.m. MDT
2 p.m. CDT
3 p.m. EDT

 

The cost of the webinar is $185 for AISC members, $285 for non-members and $155 for students and educators. (Fees are based on a per-site connection basis. Purchase one site connection and any number of members in your company or organization may view the webinar at that site connection. All attendees are eligible to receive CEUs/PDHs.)

 

Registrants will receive access to a PDF file of the presentation slides prior to the webinar, CEU/PDH certificates for all attendees upon completion of the live webinar (0.15 CEUs/1.5 PDHs) and complete instructions for accessing the live webinar.

 

Partial funding for this webinar is provided by the California and Vicinity Steel Information Council (CVSIC).

 

To register for the live webinar and learn more about other upcoming AISC webinars, visit www.aisc.org/webinars.


Bookmark and Share