Modern Steel Construction » Steel in the News » Free Webinar: Using SIMON Software for Steel Bridge Superstructures
Search

Steel in the News


Back to all posts

Free Webinar: Using SIMON Software for Steel Bridge Superstructures
Posted by Tasha Weiss on November 26, 2012 at 6:50 PM.

simon-word-mark.gifThe National Steel Bridge Alliance is offering a free live webinar this Thursday, November 29, on how to use its LRFD (Load and Resistance Factor Design) SIMON software. SIMON is a free line-girder analysis and design program that quickly produces steel superstructure designs in accordance with the AASHTO LRFD Bridge Design Specifications.

 

LRFD SIMON is strongly dependent on user input data defining the starting design and control parameters. From the user-defined starting point, the program quickly and accurately handles structural engineering calculations required for superstructure design.

 

The webinar will provide guidelines for defining a suitable starting design and also demonstrate how to effectively use the program to arrive at an optimum, cost-effective design using steel I-girders. Attendees will receive 0.15 CEUs/1.5 PDHs. 

 

The 1.5-hour webinar will begin at the following times, relative to time zone:

10 a.m. PST
11 a.m. MST
Noon CST
1 p.m. EST

 

Click here for additional information and to register for the webinar.

 

Did you know that SIMON has been around since the 1980s? Since then it has served hundreds of bridge engineers as a key tool to efficiently design and analyze steel bridges. A popular legend has it that Bridge Over Troubled Water by Simon & Garfunkel was the number-one song at the time SIMON was written, hence its name; “Garfunkel” would have been too obvious a name for it.


Bookmark and Share