Modern Steel Construction » Steel in the News » 2012 Prize Bridge Award Winners Announced

Steel in the News

Back to all posts

2012 Prize Bridge Award Winners Announced
Posted by Tasha Weiss on May 2, 2012 at 3:00 PM.

Eighteen steel bridges have earned recognition in NSBA’s Prize Bridge Awards Competition, which honors outstanding and innovative steel bridges constructed in the U.S. This year’s winning bridges were recognized on April 18 during the combined 2012 World Steel Bridge Symposium and NASCC: The Steel Conference in Dallas.


Winning bridge projects were selected based on innovation, aesthetics and design and engineering solutions. The awards were presented in the following categories:


Prize Bridge Awards winners:

  •     Major Span: Main Street Bridge, Columbus, Ohio
  •     Long Span: Nooksack River Bridge, Whatcom County, Wash.
  •     Short Span: South Layton Interchange SPUI at I-15 and Layton Parkway, Layton, Utah
  •     Movable Span: BSNF Railway Burlington Bridge, Burlington, Iowa
  •     Reconstructed: I-93 FAST 14 – Salem Street Interchange, Medford, Mass.
  •     Special Purpose: Tempe Town Lake Pedestrian Bridge, Tempe, Ariz.


Merit Award winners:

  •     Major Span: kdICON Project – Christopher S. Bond Bridge, Kansas City, Mo.
  •     Major Span: John James Audubon Bridge, St. Francisville, La.
  •     Long Span: Estero Parkway, Estero, Fla.
  •     Medium Span: S.R. 0113, Section 08B, Gay Street Bridge Replacement Project, Phoenixville, Pa.
  •     Short Span: Lynch Village Bridge, Lynch Village, Penn.
  •     Reconstructed: Bridge of Lions Historic Rehabilitation, St. Augustine, Fla.
  •     Special Purpose: Hillhouse Pedestrian Bridges, New Haven, Conn.
  •     Special Purpose: Pedestrian Bridge at the Yards Waterfront Park, Washington, D.C.


Accelerated Bridge Construction Commendations:

  •     San Francisco – Oakland Bay Bridge – East Tie-In Structure, San Francisco
  •     Sam White Bridge, American Fork, Utah
  •     I-93 FAST 14 – Salem Street Interchange, Medford, Mass.


Sustainability Commendation:

  •     Silverdale Bridge, Stillwater, Minn.


The competition attracted nearly 70 entries and included a variety of bridge structure types and construction methods. All submitted projects were required to have opened to traffic between May 1, 2009 and September 30, 2011.


For more information about this year’s Prize Bridge Awards, view NSBA’s press release at The winning projects will also be featured in the June 2012 edition of MSC, available June 1.

Bookmark and Share