Modern Steel Construction » Steel in the News » Twelve Honored for Exceptional Structural Steel Industry Achievements

Steel in the News

Back to all posts

Twelve Honored for Exceptional Structural Steel Industry Achievements
Posted by Tasha Weiss on February 7, 2012 at 12:48 PM.

On April 18, AISC will recognize 12 prominent engineering, design, and education professionals at the 2012 NASCC: The Steel Conference in Dallas (April 18-20) for their exceptional contributions to the advancement of the structural steel design and construction industry.


Two of AISC’s highest honors, the Robert P. Stupp Award for Leadership Excellence and the J. Lloyd Kimbrough Award, are rarely given and will both be presented at the event. The Stupp Award gives special recognition to those who have provided unparalleled leadership in the steel construction industry, and the Kimbrough Award honors the preeminent engineers and architects who have made an outstanding contribution to the industry through their design work. Daniel DiMicco, chairman and chief executive officer of Nucor Corporation, is the recipient of the Stupp Award for his advocacy of domestic manufacturing jobs and championing technological advancements in steelmaking and environmental leadership. John Kulicki, P.E., Ph.D., chairman and chief executive officer of Modjeski and Masters, is the recipient of the Kimbrough Award for leading bridge design and analysis work for such notable structures as the long-span Second Blue Water Bridge between Port Huron, Mich., and Point Edward, Ontario, which won both a 1997 ASCE Outstanding Civil Engineering Achievement Award and a Prize Bridge Award by NSBA in 2000.


The Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to four individuals who have provided great service, over a sustained period of years, to AISC and the structural steel design/construction/academic community. Tom Ferrell of Ferrell Engineering is honored for his extensive connection design contributions to the AISC Specification and Manual; Louis Geschwindner for his distinguished 40-year career of service to the design community, which has culminated in his continuing service as professor emeritus of architectural engineering at the Pennsylvania State University. Previously an AISC vice president, he was responsible for leading the development of the 2005 AISC Specification for Structural Steel Buildings and the 13th Edition AISC Steel Construction Manual, as well as all other technical activities of the Institute. Today he serves on the AISC Committee on Specifications and chairs Task Committee 4, Member Design; James Malley of Degenkolb Engineers for his decades of contribution and leadership on the AISC Specifications Task Committee on Seismic Design. He was a key figure in helping AISC meet the challenges that followed the Northridge Earthquake, and his technical contributions helped form the foundation for the continued usefulness and success of steel in seismic design; Alexander Wilson, chair of the Steel Bridge Task Force, for his influence in the development of bridge materials specifications and the latest high-performance steel (HPS70W). He has served as this engineering generation’s key resource for metallurgical information on steel bridges and remains very active with NSBA members.


The Special Achievement Award will be presented to six individuals who have demonstrated notable achievements in structural steel design, construction, research or education, and have made a positive and substantial impact on the industry. Robert Conner, Ph.D., associate professor at Purdue University, is honored for his work on fatigue and fracture of steel bridge structures. He rewrote the AREMA and AASHTO fatigue specifications, and his field measurements are the basis for the double cycle counts in the fatigue of orthotropic bridges; Samuel Easterling, Ph.D., professor at Virginia Tech, for his research on composite construction and his contributions to AISC 360, Chapter I, Design of Composite Members; Eric Hines of LeMessurier Consultants for his innovative use of long-span steel truss framing and cast connections for the Wind Technology Testing Center in Charlestown, Mass; Keith Landwehr for his leadership in the AISC Certification Committee and significant contributions to quality certification, as well as his work on the 2010 AISC Specification including the development of Chapter N; Jim McMinimee, principal engineer, JMC Consulting, L.C., for his leadership and innovation in steel framing solutions for a self-propelled modular transportation system; John Parucki for his more than a decade of leadership and great work as National Head Judge for the ASCE/AISC Student Steel Bridge Competition.


View photos of all of the award winners in the February issue of MSC (pages 62-63), available now. (You can view past award winners by visiting


You also can catch these award winners in person at NASCC when you register to attend the conference at Time is running short to save on your registration! The conference registration fee is currently $380. That price goes up $10 each Monday between now and the conference, so don’t delay.

Bookmark and Share