Modern Steel Construction » Steel in the News » Student Steel Bridge Competition in Just 2 Days

Steel in the News

Back to all posts

Student Steel Bridge Competition in Just 2 Days
Posted by Tasha Weiss on May 18, 2011 at 3:55 PM.

nssbc_logo.jpgThe 20th National Student Steel Bridge Competition finals will be held at Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas, on May 20-21, 2011. Drop in Reed Arena from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Saturday to see the action if you’re in the area – admission is free. Visit the Texas A&M Host website for more information.


Congratulations from AISC to all of the schools and teams that participated in the 2011 Regional Steel Student Bridge Competitions. This year 201 teams competed from throughout the United States, Canada, Mexico and China. Good luck to the 48 teams that have qualified to attend the National Student Steel Bridge Competition, where they will be challenged to assemble their small-scale pre-designed and fabricated bridges in the shortest time and under specific building constraints, aka “the rules.”


Here is the list of qualifying teams in competition order:


1. University of Alaska - Fairbanks
2. Lakehead University
3. University of Michigan
4. Drexel University
5. South Dakota School of Mines
6. Georgia Institute of Technology
7. Lafayette College
8. New Jersey Institute of Technology
9. University of British Columbia
10. The Cooper Union
11. The Citadel
12. Arkansas State University
13. Pennsylvania State University
14. Iowa State University
15. Michigan Technological University
16. University of Wisconsin - Madison
17. California Polytechnic State University
18. University of South Florida
19. Colorado School of Mines
20. Texas A&M University
21. Massachusetts Institute of Technology
22. Catholic University of America
23. California State University, Long Beach
24. University of Tennessee - Knoxville
25. San Jose State University
26. University of Minnesota
27. Louisiana Tech University
28. Washington State University
29. University of Illinois - Chicago
30. Milwaukee School of Engineering
31. Youngstown State University
32. Southern Polytechnic State University
33. University of Nebraska - Lincoln
34. Universidad LaSalle Cuernavaca
35. Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University
36. University of Texas - Austin
37. University of Kansas
38. University of Akron
39. Geneva College
40. Kansas State University
41. University at Buffalo
42. University of Texas – El Paso
43. University of New Hampshire
44. Utah State University
45. SUNY Canton
46. Wentworth Institute of Tech
47. University of California – Berkeley
48. University of Hawaii - Manoa


To learn more about this year’s national finals on the AISC website, go to The bridges will be on display Friday afternoon from 3-5 p.m. at the Brazos County Expo Center. The main competition is Saturday from 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. in Reed Arena. Visitors are welcome!

Bookmark and Share