Modern Steel Construction » Steel in the News » Eight Honored for Industry Achievements

Steel in the News

Back to all posts

Eight Honored for Industry Achievements
Posted by Tasha Weiss on May 17, 2011 at 9:11 AM.

AISC honored eight engineering professionals at NASCC: The Steel Conference in Pittsburgh for their contributions to the advancement of the structural steel design and construction industry.


The Special Achievement Award went to four individuals. Roberto Leon, P.E., Ph.D., a professor at Georgia Tech who has made significant contributions to the AISC Specification for Structural Steel Buildings and the AISC Seismic Provisions for Structural Steel Buildings. Leon was honored for his research in the design of composite steel/concrete structural systems. William Segui, P.E., Ph.D., a professor at the University of Memphis, was recognized for his textbook Steel Design, which clearly and thoroughly explains the design of steel structures. University of Nebraska professor Atorod Azizinamini was honored for his development of a new short-span bridge concept using a folded plate and inverted tub configuration. David Platten, Walter P Moore, served as structural principal in charge of the Dallas Cowboys Stadium and was honored for its innovative and record-setting long-span structure.


Four individuals who have provided outstanding service over a sustained period of years to AISC and the structural steel design/construction/academic community received the Lifetime Achievement Award. Reidar Bjorhovde, P.E., Ph.D., president of The Bjorhovde Group, was honored as a long-time contributor to AISC publications. His many contributions include serving as editor of the Journal of Constructional Research, authoring 250 industry papers, serving on the AISC Specification Committee for more than 20 years and in the education field as a professor at the University of Alberta, University of Arizona, and University of Pittsburgh. Karl Frank, Ph.D., emeritus professor, University of Texas, Austin, was honored as a long-time contributor to AISC programs. He developed the AASHTO Specifications related to steel bridges and is the newest member of the Partners in Education committee. He also serves as a member of the Research Council on Structural Connections. David I. Ruby, S.E., P.E., Ruby + Associates, was recognized for his contribution of expertise through publications, seminars, and articles covering good practices in design and construction, and constructability. A strong industry advocate, he is involved with numerous organizations including AISC, CASE, and SEAMI. Jon Magnusson, P.E., chairman and CEO of Magnusson Klemencic Associates, was honored for his significant achievements in steel design and construction. He served as a key voice of reason in the discussion of structural robustness and integrity following the September 11, 2001 attacks.


More information about this year’s awards can be found in AISC’s press release here. Past winners of the Special and Lifetime Achievement Awards and more information about all of AISC’s award programs is available at

Bookmark and Share