Modern Steel Construction » Steel in the News » AISC Seeking Nominations for Top Designer Awards

Steel in the News

Back to all posts

AISC Seeking Nominations for Top Designer Awards
Posted by Tasha Weiss on March 7, 2011 at 9:59 AM.

Who are the top designers practicing today? Previous names in this respected group include Lawrence Griffis from Walter P Moore, James Fisher from Computerized Structural Design, Charles Thornton, and Shankar Nair. They’ve all been honored for making significant contributions to the design and construction of fabricated steel buildings and bridges, and now AISC is again seeking nominations for its prestigious J. Lloyd Kimbrough Award, and its annual Lifetime and Special Achievement Awards. You can find details on award criteria and all past winners at


The Kimbrough Award recognizes pre-eminent steel designers of their era. Because of this, only four awards have been given since 1999. AISC’s Lifetime Achievement Awards honor living individuals who have who’ve made a difference in the structural steel industry’s success. And the Special Achievement Awards recognize individuals who’ve demonstrated notable industry achievements. For example, HNTB’s Theodore Zoli received an award in 2010 for his work on the S-shape cable-stayed Bob Kerrey Pedestrian Bridge (recipient of an NSBA 2009 Prize Bridge Award - read more here), while Nabih Youssef received an award for the LA Live Project that utilized an innovative steel-plate shear wall system and performance-based design.


Submit nominations to Charles J. Carter, AISC vice president and chief structural engineer, at, by April 15.


Nominations should include:

    * Award category (J. Lloyd Kimbrough Award, Lifetime Achievement Award, or Special Achievement Award)
    * Name and affiliation of person nominated
    * Reasons for nomination
    * Nominees’ background (years of service, outstanding achievements in the structural steel design community and steel industry, etc)

Bookmark and Share